Songs from the top of the world

Songs from the Top of the World (JRCD011)

Karl Olgeirsson : Piano
Kristinn Snær Agnarsson : Drums
Jón Rafnsson : Double Bass

An original and curious collection of Icelandic songs of the last 40 years in hip jazz arrangements. A mixture of evergreens, folk, punk and alternative music as well as successful international hits like Emiliana Torrini’s Jungle Drum, Jónsi’s (of Sigur Rós) Animal Arithmetic and Björk’s Army of me. A great glimpse into today’s Icelandic jazz scene as well as a great overview of the Icelandic popular song tradition.

01. Birthday / Ammæli (originally performed by The Sugarcubes)
02. Jungle Drum  (originally performed by Emiliana Torrini)
03. Is It True? (originally performed by Yohanna)
04. Rúdolf  (originally performed by Þeyr)
05. Þú komst við hjartað í mér (originally performed by Páll Óskar Hjálmtýsson)
06. Stolt siglir fleyið mitt (originally performed by Áhöfnin á Halastjörnunni)
07. Animal Arithmetic (originally performed by Jónsi)
08. Fatlafól (originally performed by Megas & Bubbi)
09. Army of Me  (originally performed by Björk)
10. Út á stoppustöð  (originally performed by Stuðmenn)
11. Can’t Walk Away  (originally performed by Herbert Guðmundsson)
12. Fjöllin hafa vakað (originally performed by Egó)
13. Álfar  (originally performed by Magnús Þór Sigmundsson)

Order CD
Download (…or listen to samples)
Most of the songs from this CD are on youtube